Mark 'Spanky' Gutierrez's Blog

It's Me.. Honest Its Me!!

Music Theory Induced Tune…

I was working on a new tune the other day and it took an interesting turn. I have all this music theory stuck in my head and I wanted to let it out. So, I started with I VI then noodled my way thru substitutes for four and then back to I and then did a V of V walk down thru the true V and wound up at I again. It sounds nice and feels like a million other Jazz tunes.

For the B section I went to the IV and treated it like a one for a while then flatted the third to make it minor and walked thru ii V changes back to one. It sounds nice and feels like a million other Jazz tunes.

I am working on the lyrics now… which often inspire melody for me.

This is a lot more clinical process for me and I am not sure I like it. Once its done, I will post the tune.

Peace

Mark Spanky Gutierrez

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

